Skip navigation

In response to last week’s all-blonde-jokes column – “The Blonde Ambition Tour” – The Dot anticipated angry letters from all manner of uptight blondes crying foul. In fact, The Dot did not receive any angry messages at all. Perhaps the reason blondes have more fun is because they have a good sense of humor.

Thoughts For The Day

  • A penny saved is a government oversight.
  • The real art of conversation is leaving unsaid the wrong thing at the tempting moment.
  • The Roman numerals for 40 are ” XL.”
  • When you put the words “the” and “IRS” together it spells “Theirs.”
  • If you can smile when things go wrong, you have someone in mind to blame
  • The sole purpose of a child’s middle name is so he can tell when he’s really in trouble.

    Groaner Alert

    Two brooms hanging in the same closet decided to get married. One broom was, of course, the bride broom, the other the groom broom. The wedding was lovely. Afterward, however, at the wedding dinner, the bride broom leaned over and said to the groom broom, “I think I am going to have a little whisk broom.” The groom broom was furious. “How is this possible?” he bellowed. “We haven’t even swept together.”

    Loves Me, Loves Me Not

    The Washington Post ran a contest in which readers were asked to write a two-line romantic poem with the second line being as un-romantic as the first line was romantic.

  • My darling, my lover, my beautiful wife;

    Marrying you screwed up my life.

  • I see your face when I am dreaming.

    That’s why I always wake up screaming.

  • Kind, intelligent, loving and hot;

    This describes everything you are not.

  • I thought that I could love no other;

    That is, until I met your brother.

  • Leave a comment